SCF Grading System

SCF Grading System

The Singapore Chess Federation is pleased to announce the New SCF Grading System. The implementation will be effective from 01 April 2014.

Details as follows:

1. With effect from 1 April 2014, the SCF shall adopt a classification of players based on the SCF Grading System using the last published FIDE rating (1st April 2014)/SCF rating (Oct 2013) whichever is higher.

2. There shall be 7 Grades:-

Grade A - Above 2000
Grade B - 1801 to 2000
Grade C - 1601 to 1800
Grade D - 1401 to 1600
Grade E - 1201 to 1400
Grade F - 10001 to 1200
Grade G - Unrated

3. Grade A shall be accorded to all those players who had been previously awarded FIDE/SCF Master titles for results prior to year 2000.

4. The approved time controls for a grading tournament shall not be faster than the following:-

4.1 Standard Chess – 60 minutes for each player for the entire game
4.2 Rapid Chess – 25 minutes for each player for the entire game

5. A grading tournament must have a minimum of 6 players and with minimum 5 rounds.

6. Merged groups are allowed up to a maximum of 3 bands. In such cases there must be a minimum of 8 players and with minimum 7 rounds.

7. Age based and team events will not be graded.

8. All scores are counted including Byes and Defaults.

9. For promotion to a higher grade, the player must achieve 2 or more norms covering at least 16 games subject to at least 1 norms from Standard Chess covering at least 7 games.

10. To achieve a norm, the candidate must make a 75% score in a grading tournament.

11. A FIDE rating tournament shall also be graded.

12. The HPE Committee shall have a final decision in determining the classification of players.


Latest News


There are no lessons this week      4th ~ 7th Aug

Registration for Q3 classes are now CLOSED!


  National Jnr Dev Squad - Term 3

HP Intermediate - Term 3

HP - Term 3

 SCF Selection Guidelines

Search Our Site

Upcoming Events


Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa