The Singapore Chess Federation is proud to reintroduce the Singapore National Master title to the Singapore Chess community. The NM title has been forgotten for quite some time, but the older generation of chess players will remember the prestige of the NM title, where NM norms and titles were awarded based on performances at the Singapore National Championships, or at the World Chess Olympiad. The last known awardee of the NM title is NM Lee Wang Sheng, who received the prestigious title in 1992.

Players registered under the SGP flag on the FIDE website can write in to from 1 January 2024 if they have fulfilled the following criteria:

  • Achieve 3 Singapore NM norms with a TPR of 2300 and above, and achieve a minimum live rating of 2200, Classical time control only. Total number of games at a minimum of 27.
  • Direct title for the Champions of the Singapore National Championships and Women’s Championships. Norms for the 2nd and 3rd finishers.
  • Norms will be awarded for the winner of the Singapore NAG U20, both boys and girls
  • A candidate cannot have more than 1 norm from the NAG

Retrospective application: The SCF is happy to allow for a retrospective application for a maximum of 12 months, i.e. from 1 January 2023 – 31 December 2023, if records of these performances can be provided.

Holders of the NM title shall receive a certificate, enjoy certain discounts for selected SCF tournaments. NM title holders will also be mentioned in a dedicated SCF web page to recognise your achievements.

National Masters

1968 Lim Kok Ann (deceased)
1968 Tan Lian Ann
1968 Tan Lian Seng
1969 Giam Choo Kwee (deceased)
1974 Choong Liong On
1974 Lee Chee Seng (deceased)
1974 Leslie Leow
1974 Pang Kwok Leong
1974 Tay Kheng Hong (deceased)
1976 Lim Seng Hoo
1980 Chan Peng Kong
1986 Alphonsus Chia
1986 Chia Chee Seng (deceased)
1986 Goh Cheng Hong
1986 Koh Kum Hong
1986 Teo Kok Siong
1986 Wong Meng Kong
1991 Hsu Li Yang
1991 Lim Hoon Cheng
1991 Wong Foong Yin
1992 Lee Wang Sheng

List of National Masters from 1968 to 1992 is taken from Singapore Chess A History, 1945-1990 by Shashi Jayakumar and Olimpiu G. Urcan, with minor corrections from Mr. Ignatius Leong